Research Awards

The Ralph W. Tyler and the James W. Wilson awards are given annually to acknowledge outstanding research projects and life-time contributions that further the understanding and practice of cooperative education, internships, and work-intergrated learning. Click here to see information regarding all CEIA awards.

Ralph W. Tyler Award For Outstanding and Distinguished Research and Publication in the Field of Cooperative Education, Internships, and Work-Intergrated Learning.

Ralph W. Tyler was the Director of the Center for Advanced Studies in The Behavioral Sciences in Stanford, California. In 1958, he chaired a two-year national study of cooperative education which was the first national study that identified the values resulting from student participation in cooperative education.

The Cooperative Education and Internship Association gives the Ralph W. Tyler Award for outstanding and distinguished research and publication in the field of cooperative education, internships, and work–intergrated learning (WIL). This award is presented at the CEIA annual conference. Click here for information and the award criteria.

James W. Wilson Award for Outstanding Contribution to Research in the Field of Cooperative Education

James W. Wilson was the Asa S. Knowles Professor of Cooperative Education and Director of Northeastern’s Cooperative Education Research Center for many years. In 1987, he co-authored a comprehensive book on cooperative education, Cooperative Education in a New Era, as well as numerous other books and articles. He edited the Journal of Cooperative Education and Internships, and for many years conducted annual surveys of co-op programs in the USA. He arguably was the most prominent researcher in cooperative education in the second half of the last century.

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the promotion and advocacy of research activity in cooperative education. The award is competitively determined and is intended to recognize longstanding contributions both by participating in research activity and providing leadership for others. The winner will be honored at the CEIA annual conference.

Persons can be nominated for the Wilson Award by sending a letter of nomination to the Vice President for Research. The letter of nomination should describe the nominee’s career, their research contributions, and their longstanding contributions in providing leadership and advocacy for research in the field.