The Cooperative Education & Internship Association 2019 ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Embassy Suites, Charleston, SC Monday, April 1, 2019

(In the interest of space, a copy of the Annual Report, that includes a summary of all accomplishments, will be included in the set of official minutes.)

CALL TO ORDER Veronica Porter, President

12:30 pm. Opening remarks were given, welcoming all members and guests. Introduction, Board of Directors. Members received copies of the 2018-19 Annual Report, financial report, and 2018 Annual Business Meeting Minutes.

Annual Business Meeting Minutes: Veronica Porter, President (handout)

MOTION MADE, SECONDED (L. Hickle/J. Catrino) to accept the minutes of the April 17, 2018 Annual Business Meeting as presented. **APPROVED.**

<u>Financial Report</u>: D. Cayse - see Annual Report

MOTION MADE, SECONDED (M. Thompson/S. Maynard) to accept the Financial Report as presented. **APPROVED.**

Membership Report: P. Harrier - see Annual Report

• 2019 total new/renewed to date: 675

•	739 – 2018 members	674 - 2017 members	694 - 2016 members
•	675 – 2015 members	701 - 2014 members	649 - 2013 members
•	611 - 2012 members	641 - 2011 members	668 - 2010 members
•	629 - 2009 members	760 - 2008 members	729 - 2007 members

Recognized Lisa Barlow, U. of Cincinnati, graphic design and layout of all conference materials.

Professional Development: J. Catrino - see Annual Report

- CEIA Academy June 11-13, 2019 Vail, CO; training emphasis Design Thinking; referred to the flyer on tables.
- Webinars summary & upcoming over the next year.

Research & Surveys Report: L. Hickle for S. Burrows - see Annual Report

- Completed *Employer Survey Summary* (on website) conducted fall 2018.
- Selected *Wilson & Tyler Award* recipients will be introduced Tuesday evening at Awards Banquet.
- The *Student Research Grant* for 2018-2019 has been awarded to David Drewery, Judene Pretti and Dana Church from the University of Waterloo for their research project, "*Understanding Successful Transitions to Work: Examining the Roles of Learning Cultures and Learning Mindsets.*" The next application deadline for the student research award is fall of 2020.

2019-20 Board Elections Results: Scott Maynard, Past President

Executive VP/President-Elect	Dawn Koeltzow
Vice President Marketing & Communications	Cara Doyle
Vice President Professional Development	Joe Catrino
Vice President Region 2 (Mid-Atlantic)	Lynne Hickle
Vice President Region 4 (Midwest)	Kelly Harper
Vice President Region 6 (Mountains & Plains)	Meghan Stidd
Vice President Region 8 (International)	Ross Johnston
Vice President Cooperative Education Network	Tracey Lord
Vice President Two Year Program Network	David Bird
One-year re-appointment Associate, New Member Development & Retention	Patricia Bazrod
One-year re-appointment Associate, External Relations & Development	David Caffo
One-year appointment Vice President Region 7	Rebecca Pettitt
2021 Conference Chair	David Schwartz

Year-In-Review: V. Porter, President

- Appreciation for board and executive committee work this year; strategic planning; committee work, conference planning successful.
- Reviewed accomplishments as listed in Annual Report Vision, Mission, Values statements updated; 2 issues
 Experience Magazine; Career Eco, Employer Survey; GIV campaign; CEIA Academy; Blog posts; Business Plan developed to provide a road map for the future.
- Honor Roll: During the Conference, CEIA honors those students who are receiving awards for their noteworthy achievements. Since some students are unable to attend due to limited personal finances, the Association has established a fund to assist them with some of the expenses related to their travel.
 - \circ 2019 \$870 + \$255 unrestricted = \$1,125 (11 donations)

2018 - \$1,005
 2017 - \$1,250
 2016 - \$1,300
 2015 - \$1,075
 2014 - \$1,100
 2013 - \$775
 2012 - \$775
 2011 - \$700

2019/2020 Board Introductions: J. Hutt, President-Elect (see Annual Report)

Questions/Discussion: V. Porter, President

Adjournment: V. Porter, President

MOTION MADE, SECONDED (L. Hickle/J. Catrino) to adjourn the Annual Business Meeting 1:05 pm. APPROVED.

Submitted by: P. Harrier, Executive Director