Latest Posts

Founding Institutions of Cooperative Education

November 28, 2022 8:09 pm Published by Leave your thoughts
college logos of founders of co-op

CEIA Celebrates 60 Years: The Founders of Cooperative Education

In 1906, Dean Herman Schneider from the University of Cincinnati founded cooperative education. Schneider concluded that the traditional classroom was insufficient for technical students.  His plan was soon followed by other Universities, which expanded the idea of Cooperative Education to other disciplines, such as business and liberal arts.

Today we celebrate the founding institutions of Cooperative Education. These organizations have provided over 100 years of real-world experience to students.

  • 1906 – University of Cincinnati
  • 1909 – Northeastern University
  • 1911 – Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 1912 – Rochester Institute of Technology
  • 1914 – University of Akron
  • 1919 – General Motors Institute, now named Kettering University
  • 1919 – Drexel University
  • 1919 – Antioch College


Smollins, J.P. The Making of the History: Ninety Years of Northeastern Co-op. Northeastern University Magazine. Boston, MA: Northeastern University (Office of University Relations). May, 1999.

Categorized in:

This post was written by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.